Naomi Milliner

Home » Book Review » He’s Gone by Deb Caletti

He’s Gone by Deb Caletti

he's goneAs a long-time fan of award-winning author Deb Caletti and her outstanding young adult books, I was curious about her first “adult” novel. I’m happy to say, it did not disappoint. On the surface, this is a mystery: Dani wakes up from a haze of pills and alcohol to find her husband missing. As she struggles to find the truth, Dani looks back on an abusive first marriage, and the affair that – after a long and unpleasant journey – led to her current marriage. Her story is compelling and thought-provoking; her voice authentic and heartfelt. As always, Caletti’s prose is poignant and lovely: “…water-torture love – the small, every day drips of disillusionment and loneliness.” And here’s another example: “They call an abusive relationship a cycle of violence, when really it’s a cycle of hope. It’s a cycle of misguided optimism.” This is a story worth reading that will stay with you long after you reach its very satisfying conclusion. It also includes an insightful and candid author interview. So read it, then pass it along to your friends.

1 Comment

  1. Book Blather says:

    I love it when publisher’s include author interview’s at the back of paperbacks. 🙂 I have a Deb Caletti YA book on my shelf at the moment, when I’m done with that I shall give this a go – I did like the quote “a cycle of misguided optimism”, I’m thinking the narration will pull at my heart strings and teach me things I’d never realise, just as a good book should. 🙂 Glad you found this a worthwhile read.

Leave a Reply

